ABCD 410 – Finnish Violin Music Leiviskä-Melartin-Raitio

Kesto: 56:12


Tuotetunnus (SKU): ABCD 410 Osastot: , , ,


There are more world premiere recordings on Finnish Violin Music, with violinist Annemarie Åstrom leading performances of virtually unknown works written in the 1920s in the shadow of Sibelius (Alba Records ABCD 410 The three composers here share a connection, Helvi Leiviskä and Väinö Raitio having studied with Erkki Melartin at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki.

Åstrom is joined by fellow KAAÅS Trio members pianist Tiina Karakorpi and cellist Ulla Lampela in Leiviskä’s Piano Trio, and by violist Atte Kilpeläinen and cellist Tomas Nuñez-Garcés in Melartin’s terrific Trio Op.133. Raitio is represented by the Four Pieces for Violin and Piano Op.18 and Sinivuokko, a late piece from 1943.

These are fine performances of really strong and appealing works that leave you wondering what other real gems are waiting to be rescued from obscurity.

TERRY ROBBINS, the whole note, May 2018, VOL 23 NO.



  • Leiviskä, Helvi

Piano Trio
1Allegro con fuoco7:31FIABA1700258
2Largo - allegro - largo10:47FIABA1700259
  • Melartin, Erkki (1875-1937)

Trio for violin, viola and cello op. 133
3Andante - allegro5:21FIABA1700260
4Andante funebre4:24FIABA1700261
6Finale - vivace4:58FIABA1700263
  • Raitio, Väinö (1891-1945)

Works for Violin and Piano Op. 18
7Ballade op. 18:14:26FIABA1700264
8Canzonetta op. 18:22:48FIABA1700265
9Barcarole op. 18:33:40FIABA1700266
10Poème op. 18:45:39FIABA1700267
11Sinivuokko (Blue Hepatica)3:01FIABA1700268


Sibelius dominates the international reputation of Finnish music, but as this disc shows there’s plenty more.